Keynote Speakers



Prof. Guy LE LAY
Aix-Marseille University, France

Guy LE LAY, Professor Emeritus at Aix-Marseille University, is the 2021 laureate of the international Fernand Holweck Medal and Grand Prize jointly awarded by the Institute of Physics in the UK and the Société Française de Physique in France, for his pioneering works on Xenes, the artificial counterparts of graphene, from silicene synthesized in 2012 to plumbene realized in 2019. He is an expert in NanoScience and Synchrotron Radiation, serving for eight years as a member of the European Round Table on Synchrotron Radiation and Free Electron Lasers. He has also collaborated with the ESA and the NASA as co-PI of the Mercuric Iodide Crystal Growth experiment inside the First International Microgravity Laboratory (IML-1) onboard the Discovery shuttle, in January 1992.
During his career, he has chaired and organized a large number of international Schools, Workshops and Conferences and served in many UNESCO, NATO, EC, international, national and regional panels and expert committees.



Prof. Jae-Jin Shim
Yeungnam University, South Korea

Prof. Jae-Jin Shim received his BS degree from Seoul National University, Korea, in 1980, his M.S. degree from Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) in 1982, and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Texas at Austin, USA, in 1990. He worked at the Korea Institute of Science and Technology (KIST) as a research scientist (1982-1986), at the University of California, Berkely as a postdoctoral research associate (1990-1991), and at KIST as a senior research scientist (1991-1994). He has been a professor at Yeungnam University since 1994, served as Vice-Dean of Engineering, and has been a professor emeritus since September 2023. He also served as the President of the Korean Society of Clean Technology and the Vice President of the Korean Society of Engineering Education. He was the Director of the Institute of Clean Technology (2006-2008, 2014-2023) and the Director of the Clean Energy Priority Research Center supported by the Korean Government (2014-2023). He has written and edited 14 books, published 310 papers in peer-reviewed journals, and filed 37 patents. He served as the Chief Editor of CLEAN TECHNOLOGY and Editor of the Korean Journal of Chemical Engineering and is now a guest editor of NANOMATERIALS.